安全

切尔诺贝利辐射水平的今昔对比?


辐射是一种常见的释放能量的方式,在世界各地都很常见,包括我们的身体也会释放辐射。不过数十年来,“辐射”这个词却与一个地方紧密联系,并且彻底改变了那个地区的历史。切尔诺贝利事故已成了人类历史上最大规模的核能灾难的象征,并且切尔诺贝利核电站4号机组爆炸造成的辐射扩散造成了一些致命后果。 发电站和附近地区(包括普里皮亚特市)的辐射水平在每小时0.1至300个西弗特之间(比通常以微西弗斯-μSv为单位测量的正常自然本底辐射高近10亿至10亿倍)。 大部分碘131、铯137和锶90等放射性同位素持续释放至空气中。 只需在燃烧的反应堆周围停留10分钟,就可导致急性放射病(ARS),并会危害到生命。

你应该了解的辐射暴露与身体保护

事故发生几周后,清理工作仍在继续(反应堆堆芯大火在爆炸两周后完全扑灭),随着最危险的粒子(如碘131)因半衰期非常短,而逐渐变成危险性较低或稳定的同位素后,该地的辐射水平也开始缓慢下降。 通过在被摧毁的反应堆上建造安全禁闭区,也即是石棺(在1986年11月30日前完成,惊人的仅用了7个月就完成所有建造工作)该地的辐射水平进一步下降,人们也开始能够到此进行进一步的清理工作。 另一个事实是,放射性同位素具有一定的重量,并会随着时间的逝去逐渐下降,按照每年往土壤沉入1厘米的速度,逐渐渗透进土地内。

半衰期? …但我想要充实的生活!

*半衰期是指某一特定同位素的放射性降至原始值的一半所需的时间。 这意味着放射性不会真正消失,但经过足够的时间后其危险性可以忽略不计。例如,10个半衰期后放射性下降了1000倍,20个半衰期后下降了100,000倍等等。 

如今,疏散的地区仍然是一片荒地,然而,很难发现超过天然本底辐射的放射性物质。 另外 ,这也是30公里禁区现在变成 自然保护区的原因之一。 在10公里范围内,你仍然可以发现放射性热点,即地面上凝结的辐射仍然超过自然水平一百倍甚至上千倍。 在切尔诺贝利之旅中,你会游览这样的地方,然而,你不会在那里停留很长时间。我们会带你到红树林地区(核电站后面的松树林,在事故发生几天后由于辐射而干枯)不过只是驾车经过时游览一番景色而已。

在2016年的时候,当新的安全掩体(链接到博客)覆盖旧石棺时,切尔诺贝利发电厂周围的辐射水平下降了3-4倍,现在每小时为1.2μSv(微西弗)。 在附近的普里皮亚季市, 有些地方的辐射水平可以达到0.9μSv/小时,但通常不会超过0.3μSv/小时的自然辐射水平 。辐射水平因天气而异,例如,冬季较低,夏季较高。

保护自己免受辐射

游览切尔诺贝利危险吗?


我们可以根据它们是稳定的还是在我们称之为放射性衰变的过程中的变化,或者仅仅是放射性,来划分所有的同位素

经过这么多年,到切尔诺贝利旅行比起以往任何时候都来的安全。运行了十多年的CHERNOBYLwel.come在切尔诺贝利之旅中开发了避开放射性场所的最安全的路线,或者说,就算是前往有放射性的景点,也只会停留很短的时间。尽管如此,我们仍然可以看到所有最重要,最有趣的地方和建筑物,甚至在一些游览配套中,我们进入核电厂内部参观。 在切尔诺贝利禁区游览一天,人体所受到的辐射相当于我们周围的自然本底辐射。正确地说,这种剂量通常比全身X射线扫描少300倍,相当于在飞机上待了几个小时,在飞机上我们更容易受到来自外太空的宇宙辐射的影响。若以数字表述,您将在一天内接受到3-4μSv的伽马射线(请参阅下面的辐射类型),这是绝对无害的辐射剂量。相比之下,世界上大多数核电站对员工的安全限制是每天50-100μSv。最有可能的是,在飞往基辅的飞行中,你将比游览切尔诺贝利的一天接受到更多的辐射。

前往切尔诺贝利禁区的游客应避免沾染放射性粉尘,游客可能会在游览一些地方时,被微量(不危险)辐射尘沾染在衣服或鞋子上。 由于这一点,CHERNOBYLwel.come建议所有游客一回到家就彻底清洗衣服和鞋子。每个签购CHERNOBYLwel.come游览配套的旅行者都会获得一个免费的高效过滤口罩。而且,作为乌克兰唯一的旅游公司,我们还为您提供免费的盖革-穆勒计数器,以提高您的舒适度和安全性。尽管风险很低,而且10年来我们的游客在通过剂量控制前必须清洗鞋子的情况不超过10例,但我们要求您与您的导游保持密切联系,并服从他或她的指示。这样,我们可以确保为您提供100%安全的切尔诺贝利之旅。

更多关于辐射


我们周围的所有物体,包括我们的身体,都是由原子构成的,原子由在原子核中发现的质子和中子以及围绕它们运转的电子组成。同一化学元素的原子拥有相同数量的质子,但中子数量可能不同。我们将这些拥有不同中子数目的同种元素称为同位素。例如,两种最知名的碳同位素就是碳-12和碳-14,其中数字表示质子和中子的总数。

然后,我们可以根据它们是稳定的还是在我们称之为放射性衰变的过程中的变化,或者仅仅是放射性,来划分所有的同位素。一些放射性同位素衰变的速度以半衰期为特征,半衰期从微小的一秒到数十亿年不等。如果半衰期短,衰变速度很快,我们说这样的同位素放射性更强,反之亦然。

尔法辐射:是最常见的辐射,因为大多数放射性同位素通过发射α粒子而衰变。

重要的是要了解,某些水平的放射性是非常普遍的,因为每一种元素都有一些放射性同位素,其中许多可以在我们周围的自然环境中发现。这使得我们周围的所有物体在某种程度上都具有放射性,甚至包括我们身体中都含有少量放射性碳-14和钾-40,而且通常每秒钟大约有8000个原子发生衰变。我们的身体当然习惯于这些低水平的放射性,这是无害的

辐射是能量的传输,可以根据其电离原子和分子并破坏它们之间化学键的能力,可以分为电离和非电离。例如,可见光或无线电波都是安全的非电离电磁辐射,而放射衰变中发出的辐射通常是危险的电离辐射。电离辐射的危险在于它会破坏生物细胞内的化学键,从而损害生物细胞,从而对健康造成不利影响。

吸收的辐射量被称为剂量,对我们来说最重要的是所谓的有效剂量,它考虑了辐射量、辐射类型及其生物效应。这正是我们在您访问切尔诺贝利期间,会用剂量计为你测量的。有效剂量单位为西弗或更实际的微西弗(百万分之一西弗)。 我们的剂量计既测量每小时微西弗的实际辐射水平,也自动计算打开剂量计期间的总剂量。正如我们已经提到的,在禁区典型的短途旅行期间,你的剂量计将测量到大约3-4微西弗的伽马辐射。

谈论接受一定剂量的辐射可能听起来很危险,但重要的是要正确看待这一点。我们必须了解,某些水平的辐射,即本底辐射,是完全自然的,在世界各地都存在。本底辐射由多种来源组成,包括来自我们周围自然存在的所有放射性同位素的辐射,以及来自外太空的宇宙辐射。最重要的本底辐射源是被称为氡的放射性气体,它从地面自然释放出来,然后被我们吸入体内。特别是在通风不良的建筑物内,这种气体更加集中,辐射水平很容易超过禁区内的大多数地方。

从数字上看,世界上所有本底辐射源的平均值约为每天8微西弗。 所以你可以看到,你的剂量计在我们的短途旅行的10-12小时内测量到的3-4微西弗是完全安全的,相当与你每天在家里接受到的剂量。此外,现在有许多地方的自然辐射水平要比今天的切尔诺贝利高得多。巴西瓜拉帕里海滩仍然是记录保持者,在某些地点,辐射水平可能超过目前的切尔诺贝利水平数百倍

除了天然的本底辐射源外,我们还经常接触到许多人工辐射源。这包括各种医疗程序,但也包括抽烟,因为香烟烟雾含有可致癌的大量放射性釙-210。另一种放射性活动是飞机旅行,因为在高海拔地区,我们更容易接受到通常受大气层遮蔽的宇宙辐射的影响。我们在下面的表1中列出了最常见的人工辐射源。正如你所看到的,抽烟是人类所能经历的最具放射性的活动之一,每天抽一包烟,一年内你所接受到的剂量将是去切尔诺贝利旅行期间的1万倍。

四种电离辐射:

*阿尔法辐射:是最常见的辐射,因为大多数放射性同位素通过发射α粒子而衰变。α粒子由两个质子和两个中子组成。因为它们很大而且带电荷,所以很容易阻止它们。一张纸或几厘米的空气通常足以有效地屏蔽阿尔法辐射。然而,如果一些α放射性物质被摄入或吸入,并与内脏组织直接接触,就会造成损害并导致不良健康问题。这就是为什么必须避免食用受污染食品的原因,这也是在禁区旅行期间严禁食用任何食物 的主要原因。

*贝塔辐射:由电子或所谓的正电子组成.。一片塑料、铝箔或几米距离的空气就可以相对容易地阻止它,因此,你的剂量计只会在所谓热点附近短暂地探测到β辐射,因此不会对健康构成严重威胁。同样,与α辐射一样,最重要的是避免食用可能受到污染的食物。

*伽马辐射:这是一种电磁辐射,与可见光或无线电波相同,但能量要高得多。这是一种穿透性很强的辐射,最好用大量的铅或混凝土加以屏蔽。γ辐射是一种非常常见的辐射类型,普遍存在于我们的周围,因此我们的身体已习惯了微量水平的伽马射线。因此,少量的伽马辐射不会造成严重的健康风险。

*中子辐射:通常是在核裂变中产生的,在核能中起着关键作用。这是一种穿透性很强的辐射,最好用高中子含量的材料(如石蜡或大量水)加以屏蔽。然而,这是一种非常罕见的辐射,只能在活跃的核反应堆附近发现。

切爾諾貝利 排除 區 安全 現在

在你的生活中寻找更多的辐射?


香蕉是最具放射性的水果。它们含有放射性同位素钾-40。吃一根香蕉相当于0.1微西弗的辐射剂量,然而,你的身体所受到的这种辐射不能与抽烟或参观切尔诺贝利相提并论。

日常生活中的辐射暴露

世界上还有其他地方因自然或历史原因而具有放射性;不过人们对这些地方的偏见不如他们对切尔诺贝利来的严重。

选择一个旅程

SAFETY

RADIATION IN CHERNOBYL NOW AND THEN


Radiation is a common way of emitting energy and it is common everywhere in the world, including within our bodies. For decades the word “radiation” has been connected or localised with a place that changed the history of mankind. Chernobyl is a symbol of the largest nuclear energy disaster in the history of mankind with some fatal consequences caused by the radiation spread from the explosion of the 4th unit of the Chernobyl power plant. The levels of radiation in the power plant and in the nearby areas (including the city of Pripyat) ranged from 0.1 to 300 Sieverts per hour (almost billion – 1,000,000,000 times more than the usual natural background radiation measured in microSieverts - μSv). Mostly radioactive isotopes of iodine 131, caesium 137 and strontium 90 were thrown into the air. Spending even 10 minutes around the burning reactor would result in Acute Radiation Sickness (ARS) and cause hazard to life.

Radiation exposure and body what you should know

Weeks after the accident with the continuing liquidation works (the fire at the reactor core was fully extinguished two weeks after the explosion) in addition to the fact that the most dangerous particles (e.g. Iodine 131) had a very short half-life* and turned into less dangerous or stable isotopes, the radiation level was slowly dropping. Building the safe confinement, the sarcophagus (completed by November 30, 1986, in the astonishing time of only 7 months) over the destroyed reactor helped the radiation to further decrease and allowed people to conduct further liquidation works. The radioactive isotopes are typically rather heavy and hence naturally go deeper into the soil; every year they decrease by around one centimetre, sinking down into the soil.

HALF LIFE? …BUT I WANT FULL LIFE!

*Half-life is the time taken for the radioactivity of a specified isotope to fall to half it’s original value. This means that radioactivity never really disappears, but after enough time can become negligible. For example, after 10 half-lives the radioactivity drops by 1000 times, after 20 half-lives by 1000 000, etc.

Nowadays the evacuated areas remain wasteland, however, it is very hard to find radioactivity that exceeds the natural background radiation. Also, that is one of the reasons that the 30-kilometre exclusion zone has now been turned into a nature reserve. Within the 10-kilometre zone you can still find radioactive hotspots, i.e. spots on the ground with condensed radiation that still exceed the natural level by a hundred and even a thousand times. During your Chernobyl trip, you will be shown such places, however, you will not stay there very long. Even the Red Forest area (the pine forest behind the power plant that dried up, due to radiation a few days after the accident) is only a drive through visit.


In 2016 when the New Safe Confinement (LINK TO BLOG) was slid over the old sarcophagus, radiation levels around Chernobyl power plant dropped by 3-4 times and are now 1.2 μSv (microSieverts) per hour. In the nearby city of Pripyat, the radiation level can reach 0.9 μSv/hour at some places, but typically does not exceed the natural radiation levels of 0.3 μSv /hour. The radiation levels vary, based on, for example, the weather (lower in the winter, higher in the summer).

Protecting yourself against radiation

Is it dangerous to visit Chernobyl?


Radiation Exposure events in the world explosion

After all these years it is safer than ever to travel to Chernobyl.  Operating for over 10 years CHERNOBYLwel.come have developed the safest routes avoiding radioactive places during the Chernobyl tours, or the group is near to these places for only a brief amount of time. Still we manage to see all the most important and interesting places and buildings, and on some tours, even inside the power plant. During one day spent in the Chernobyl exclusion zone the body receives a dose of radiation comparable to the natural background radiation found all around us. To put this in perspective, this dose is typically 300 times less than a whole body X-ray scan and is comparable to several hours spent on an aeroplane, where we are more exposed to cosmic radiation coming from the outer space. In figures, you will receive 3-4 μSv of gamma radiation in one day (see the types of radiation below), a dose of radiation that is absolutely not harmful. In comparison, most of the nuclear power plants around the world have a safety limit for their employees set at 50-100 μSv per day. Most probably you will get more radiation during your flight to Kiev than from one day in Chernobyl.

Visitors to the Chernobyl exclusion zone should avoid radioactive dust, which might occur at some places and get stuck in small (not dangerous) amounts on their clothes or shoes. Due to this, CHERNOBYLwel.come suggests that all visitors wash all their clothes and shoes thoroughly as soon as they return home. Every adventurer travelling with CHERNOBYLwel.come gets a free fabric respirator. And, as the only tour company in Ukraine, we also offer you the use of Geiger Muller counters free of charge, in order to improve your comfort and safety. Despite the low risk, and there has been no more than 10 cases in 10 years when our tourists had to wash their shoes before passing the dosimetric control, we ask you to stay close to your guide and obey his or her instructions. This way, we can ensure a 100% safe Chernobyl tour for you.

MORE ON RADIATION


All the objects around us, including our bodies, are made from atoms, which are composed of protons and neutrons found in the nucleus, and the electrons orbiting them. Atoms of the same chemical element have the same number of protons but can differ in the number of neutrons. We call these different variants of the same element isotopes. For example, two of the most well known isotopes of carbon are the so called carbon-12 and and carbon-14, where the number indicates the total number of protons and neutrons.

We can then divide all isotopes, based on whether they are stable or change in a process that we call radioactive decay, or simply just radioactivity.   The speed with which some radioactive isotope decay is characterised by the half-life, which varies from tiny fractions of a second to billions of years. If the half-life is short, the decay is fast, and we say that such an isotope is more radioactive, and vice versa.

Radiation exposure in daily life worldwide

It is important to understand that certain levels of radioactivity are very common, because every element has some radioactive isotopes and many of them can be found naturally around us. This makes all objects around us radioactive to some extent, even including our bodies that contain small amounts of radioactive carbon-14 and potassium-40, and typically around 8000 atoms of it decay every second. Our bodies are of course accustomed to these low levels of radioactivity, which are harmless.

Radiation is the transportation of energy and can be divided into either ionizing or non-ionizing based on its ability to ionize atoms and molecules and disrupt the chemical bonds among them. For example, the visible light or radio waves are both types of safe non-ionizing electromagnetic radiation, while radiation emitted in radioactive decay is usually the dangerous ionizing radiation. The danger of ionizing radiation lies in the fact that it can disrupt chemical bonds inside the cells of living organisms, which can damage them and therefore lead to adverse health effects.

The amount of absorbed radiation is called a dose and for us the most important is the so-called effective dose, which takes into account the amount of, the type of radiation and its biological effect. This is exactly what our dosimeters during your visit of Chernobyl will measure. The units of effective dose are Sieverts or more practically microSieverts (1/1 000 000 of Sievert). Our dosimeters measure both the actual level of radiation in microSieverts per hour and also automatically calculate the total dose during the time the dosimeter is switched on. As we have already mentioned during the typical excursion day in the Exclusion Zone your dosimeter will measure about 3-4 microSieverts of gamma radiation.

Talking about receiving a dose of radiation may sound threatening, but it is important to put this into perspective. We have to understand that some levels of radiation i.e. background radiation are completely natural and occur everywhere in the world. Background radiation consists of multiple sources including radiation coming from all the radioactive isotopes that naturally occur in everything around us, and cosmic radiation coming from outer space. The most significant source of background radiation is the radioactive gas called radon released naturally from the ground that we inhale with air. Particularly, inside buildings with bad ventilation this gas can concentrate and the radiation levels can easily become greater than most places in the Exclusion Zone.

In figures, the world average for all sources of background radiation is around 8 microSieverts per day. So you can see that the 3-4 microSieverts measured by your dosimeter during the 10-12 hours of our excursion are completely safe and are comparable to what you would receive normally everyday at home. Moreover, there are many places that now have naturally much higher levels of radiation than Chernobyl today. Guarapari Beach in Brazil holds the record, where, at some spots, levels of radiation can exceed the current Chernobyl levels hundreds of times.

Beside natural sources of background radiation, there are also many artificial sources that we are exposed to routinely. This includes various medical procedures, but also smoking, since cigarette smoke contains significant amounts of radioactive polonium-210 that can cause cancer. Another radioactive activity is plane travel since at high altitudes we are more exposed to cosmic radiation that is usually shielded by the atmosphere. We list the most common artificial sources in table 1 below. As you can see smoking is one of the most radioactive activities that a human can experience and by smoking one pack a day, in one year you will receive a dose 10 000 times larger than during an excursion to the Zone.

Four types of ionizing radiation

*alpha radiation: is the most common radiation since most of the radioactive isotopes decay by emitting alpha particles. The alpha particle consists of two protons and two neutrons. Since they are quite large and carry the electric charge, it is very easy to stop them. A piece of paper or few centimetres of air is typically sufficient to effectively shield alpha radiation. However, if some alpha radioactive material is ingested or inhaled and comes into direct contact with the tissue of internal organs, it can cause damage and lead to adverse health problems.  This is why it is necessary to avoid contamination of food, which is the main reason why it is strictly forbidden to consume any food during your trip in the Exclusion Zone.

*beta radiation: consists of electrons or so-called positrons. A piece of plastic, aluminium foil or few meters of air can stop it relatively easily. Because of this your dosimeters will detect beta radiation only briefly in the vicinity of the so called hot spots and hence does not pose a serious health risk. Similarly, as with alpha radiation, it is most important to avoid consumption of possible contaminated food.

*gamma radiation: is a type of electromagnetic radiation, the same as visible light or radio waves, but much more energetic. It is a very penetrating type of radiation that is best shielded by large amounts of lead or concrete. Gamma radiation is a very common type of radiation found everywhere around us and hence our bodies are accustomed to it’s low levels. Therefore, small quantities of gamma radiation do not pose serious health risk.

*neutron radiation: is produced typically within nuclear fission that plays the crucial role in nuclear energy. It is a very penetrating type of radiation, which is best shielded by materials with high neutron content like paraffin or large quantities of water. However, it is a very rare type of radiation that can be found only in the vicinity of active nuclear reactors.

Chernobyl Exclusion Zone safety now

Looking for more radiation in your life?


Bananas are the most radioactive fruit out there. They contain a radioactive isotope Potassium-40. Eating one banana is equal to a 0.1 microSieverts dose of radiation, however the instance of this radiation received by your body cannot be compared to smoking nor to visiting Chernobyl.

How much radiation doses in daily life

There are other places in the world that are naturally or historically radioactive; towards which people are not so prejudiced as they are towards Chernobyl.

Above all, we make sure that your Chernobyl excursion will be one of the safest adventures of your life.

PICK A TOUR